Sugar Baby Watermelon from our in-town back yard garden

We have picked two or three Sugar Baby watermelons so far this month.  They are a nice size to fit into an already crowded fridge.

S. with Sugar Baby Watermelon

S. with Sugar Baby Watermelon

Washed clean

Washed clean
Cut in half

Cut in half

Sliced and ready to eat.

Sliced and ready to eat.

Dad!  It's getting HEAVY and my feet are BURNING on the sidewalk!

Dad! It's getting HEAVY and my feet are BURNING on the sidewalk!

And then, way down here (where only the most dedicated readers will read) I’ll make an offer.  If you would like to try this variety of melon next year, just let me know and I’ll send you some of the seeds.  First 3 who ask will get seeds in the mail, as long as you ask before August, 2008 is over.  You’ll need AT LEAST a 4×4 foot space to grow these, and to make it fit in that space you’ll have to keep turning the vines back in again every couple days.  Mine are growing in a 6×8 foot raised bed, and there ended up being about 6 vines.  It is also possible, although a LOT of WORK to grow this watermelon on a trellis.  When trellising this melon, you have to sling the fruits so their own weight doesn’t break them off the vine in the wind.

11 responses to this post.

  1. send some to me!! Although I’m not sure WHERE we will plant them.. I think you already have my address! LOL!!

  2. Oh.. the one where it’s cut in half, looks like a face. you know, the kind you make with sunnyside up eggs and bacon.

  3. Yes, I noticed the strange watermelon and knife face too! He looks a little distraught. I’ll send you some seeds!

  4. Posted by Tammy on August 15, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    nice! I tried I have one tiny watermelon on the all of the vines! I am not sure what I did wrong.

  5. Posted by Shae on August 19, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Nice! We had the yellow watermelon’s last night after supper and it was just amazing!

  6. Posted by Robin on September 7, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Awesome! Good job!

  7. Posted by Robin on September 30, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Your last blog was so long ago I thought I’d check in on you. I hope everything’s ok.

  8. FINALLY planted three seeds in full sun…

  9. Posted by jane on July 3, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    I have some of these in my garden…first time growing watermelon. How do I know when they are ready to pick?

Comments are closed.