Cucumbers growing on a trellis

The cucumbers are growing up the trellis I made from sticks that fell into my back yard this March and April.  I just laid them out on the ground in an arrangement that worked, tied them together with twine and stuck them in the ground.

A homemade cucumber trellis

A homemade cucumber trellis

This is actually (like most of the photos I post) quite a large image, so click on it to see it enlarged.  In many browsers, you then have to click once more to see the full original size.  There is a good amount of detail available if you’d like to look.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Wow!! And it didn’t cost anything. Even better! Plus, it’s not climbing on the fence either.


  2. I meant to have some nice sugar snap peas using the fence but that didn’t work out this year.


  3. I hope the peas work next year.


  4. Posted by Shae on August 5, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    that’s awesome!! :D


  5. Posted by Ali on August 26, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Your cukes are beautiful! I am so jealous. Mine were attacked by striped beetles, eaten by my chickens, and then they go a virus. I got 1, yes ONE, cuke. Sigh. Enjoy them, and I will live vicariously through you :-)

    Ali in Maine


  6. That’s too bad about your cucumbers. That’s how my sugar snap peas acted this year. 2 or 3 pea pods to eat, and that was on the second planting attempt. I made more sweet bread & butter pickles this week and once again had a problem with most of the jars not sealing. I have no idea what I’m doing wrong with the sweet pickles, but this has happened twice. Luckily they were small jars and we’ll eat them up from the fridge.


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

