Cucumbers growing on a trellis

The cucumbers are growing up the trellis I made from sticks that fell into my back yard this March and April.  I just laid them out on the ground in an arrangement that worked, tied them together with twine and stuck them in the ground.

A homemade cucumber trellis

A homemade cucumber trellis

This is actually (like most of the photos I post) quite a large image, so click on it to see it enlarged.  In many browsers, you then have to click once more to see the full original size.  There is a good amount of detail available if you’d like to look.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Wow!! And it didn’t cost anything. Even better! Plus, it’s not climbing on the fence either.

  2. I meant to have some nice sugar snap peas using the fence but that didn’t work out this year.

  3. I hope the peas work next year.

  4. Posted by Shae on August 5, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    that’s awesome!! 😀

  5. Posted by Ali on August 26, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Your cukes are beautiful! I am so jealous. Mine were attacked by striped beetles, eaten by my chickens, and then they go a virus. I got 1, yes ONE, cuke. Sigh. Enjoy them, and I will live vicariously through you 🙂

    Ali in Maine

  6. That’s too bad about your cucumbers. That’s how my sugar snap peas acted this year. 2 or 3 pea pods to eat, and that was on the second planting attempt. I made more sweet bread & butter pickles this week and once again had a problem with most of the jars not sealing. I have no idea what I’m doing wrong with the sweet pickles, but this has happened twice. Luckily they were small jars and we’ll eat them up from the fridge.

Comments are closed.