Blackberry leaves- not all the same color

Green leaves on a blackberry vine

Purple leaves on a Blackberry Vine

Does anyone know the significance of my Blackberry vine growing several clusters of leaves that are purple instead of green?  They look pretty, and healthy.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jj on April 3, 2012 at 7:20 am

    I don’t know much about blackberries (just planted my first last spring), but all of the leaves on mine are purple (or were last year – they haven’t leafed out yet this spring). I suspect it’s normal for some varieties, at least.

  2. As long as they look healthy, I wouldn’t worry too much. I think it may have something to do with the fact that they are growing in the shade of the upper leaves. There are different kinds of beta carotenes in leaves, and as the green ones break down in the fall we see the other colors which is why leaves change in the fall. It is possible that the lack of light on the lower leaves is not stimulating the production of the greens, and so you are seeing the reds. In the fall, blackberries turn purply-red.

    If they were blotchy or unhealthy looking, it could be a fungus, but that is not the case.

    • Good, I’m glad you think they are fine. I think I might have finally had these vines in place long enough to get a harvest that can’t be entirely eaten while standing outside.

  3. My blackberries always have a few different shades like that this time of year. Usually the few leaves that managed to hang on through winter or emerged early are my darker leaves. It looks healthy to me, too.

    Leanne at Hanbuy House

  4. So glad you posted this pic! You’ve helped me identify some wild-growing vines in our front yard 🙂 Thanks!

Comments are closed.