Yardlong green beans

Yardlong green beans

Yardlong green beans

Just for fun, I planted a packet of “Yardlong” green pole beans this year.  They have flowered and are starting to make skinny bean pods.  According to the information on the back of the seed envelope, they taste best when picked at 18 inches.  Yes, each single green bean will be at least 18 inches long!  If left to grow, the pods will be over 3 feet long, hence the name.

If they do taste good, I’ll leave some to go to seed and plant them again next year.

Update:  I found one bean that was ready to be picked tonight while I was out in the garden.  See below.  I included the US Dollar for scale, mainly because I don’t have a geologist’s hammer. 😉

"Yardlong" green bean

"Yardlong" green bean

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shae on August 5, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I love fresh green beans 😀

  2. Holy Green bean!!! How do they taste?

  3. I think I’ll cook some tonight.

  4. Thanks for reminding me! 🙂

    The boys gobbled up the green bean like it was any other. I boil/steamed it for 4 or 5 minutes and they salted at the table.

    The oddity to report is that the water left in the cooking pot when I cleaned up…was PINK.

  5. Bizarre!! Pink water!

Comments are closed.

