Canning kitchen in the garage

 

Cast iron triple burner

Cast iron triple burner

Last summer I learned to can my garden produce in glass jars.  This involves boiling big pots of food and water for as long as a couple hours at a time, usually on the hottest evenings of July and August.  The resulting humidity in the house was very uncomfortable, so we would run the air conditioning all night.  That made canning very energy expensive in a way we didn’t anticipate.

This summer I’ll be doing much of my canning on this old bar surface.  This is set up in my attached garage immediately next to the 2-car garage door opening.  It’s also just a few steps from my actual kitchen.

The bar has been reused many times.  We inherited it with the house we bought 10 years ago and it held laundry for about 5 years.  It held an aquarium for about 3 years after that and when it was moving day we almost left it behind for the next buyer.  Instead, my wife talked me into taking it apart and cutting it down to it’s current short height.  She used it this way in her elementary classroom for a year or two before bringing it home again.  Now it has been repurposed again as a kitchen counter!

Canning here won’t be quite as convenient as inside the house, but it should work fine!  It will also be interesting to be able to measure EXACTLY how much we have to spend on the energy for canning (at $19 per tank refill).

6 responses to this post.

  1. Good reusing!!

  2. Posted by sarabclever on April 13, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Nice! I am hoping to have enough success with my tomatoes to begin my first foray into canning this year!

  3. Posted by agape7 on April 13, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Can’t wait! Asparagus canning next weekend!!

  4. We have the same issue. This is a great fix. Thanks for the idea!

  5. Posted by bethsmiles on April 14, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    This is a great idea! I resolved to do my canning this year in the wee hours of the morning…but perhaps doing them outside might be better!

  6. Thanks for the comments everybody! I’m really excited to get the gardens started!

Comments are closed.