26.5 ounce Cabin Tomato

WOW!  I have never grown such big fruits from this variety before!  If you just joined this web site, let me fill you in.  I have been saving seeds from “Cabin” tomatoes and regrowing them for the last few years.  The plants seem really disease resistant, and I love the taste!

I have saved one batch of seeds, which was about the amount that covered a small dinner plate.  Those are in the freezer now, and will be tested for viability soon.

I have a second batch of seeds fermenting in a quart jar right now, and that should provide another few hundred seeds.

I plan to send out up to 50 (give or take) envelopes of seeds for this variety of tomato to folks willing to send in a picture of their efforts to grow it in 2013, and who will try to save seeds for the next season.

Some have already sent me their addresses (thank you!), and I hope to collect a few more.

20 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Christie on July 25, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    I would LOVE some seeds! I’d be happy to post our results. Those are just beautiful! Let me know if I can send you my address. So cool.

  2. I too would like approx. 6 or 8 seeds just to try. That would be plenty to try. Please let me know if and how to get them. Thanks.

  3. Me too, me too! I want some! 🙂

  4. Me!Me1Me! You already have my address. I can commit to posting pictures AND to saving seeds since I do that already.

    I guess it isn’t ALL dead…. My water bill was $90 this month. I guess it was worth it, all my trees and sthrubs are stressed but alive. Praying for that line of storms to reach us….

  5. Posted by thebeadden on July 25, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    Oh boy! I hope our succeed and we grow some as big as that! We’ll try our best not to let you down. And being competitive, we’ll even try to out do you! LOL! Just kidding. 😉

  6. Posted by Green Thumb Mama on July 26, 2012 at 8:57 am

    WHOA. That has to be a world record. Have you looked into it? I have never seen a tom that big before!!!

  7. Posted by Leilani on July 26, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Interesting! I’m surprised a tomato this big has good flavor. Way to go!

  8. Posted by Jim on July 26, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Nice looking tomato. I would love to receive some of the seeds and give this variety a try. I currently have 6 different varieties planted this year (a total of 34 plants, we really like tomato’s and can a lot). I have Rutger’s, Delicious, Beef Steak, Arkansas Traveler’s, Early Girl and San Marzano Roma’s.
    Been following you blog for a while and enjoy it.

  9. I’d love some of these seeds!

  10. Posted by paul zistl on March 6, 2013 at 8:53 am

    I also would love 6 or so seeds.
    Will be glad to send pictures

Comments are closed.