Double? Triple? Sextuple tomato blossom.

Multiple tomato flower blossom

Multiple tomato flower blossom

When your tomato plants grow these massive conjoined flowers, and when those flowers get properly pollinated, you will grow a huge bumpy conjoined tomato.  I have these flowers on my Beefmaster plants right now.  I’ll update with pictures if I get tomatoes from these monster blossoms.

Siamese tomato blossom.  Yeah, I know, that term is no longer P.C.

Siamese tomato blossom. Yeah, I know, that term is no longer P.C.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sarabclever on June 22, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I had one of those on my Mr. Stripey. Unfortunately it seemed to prevent any other buds growing (and didn’t appear to even be close to blossoming itself)–so I cut it off and now I’m pretty sure I finally see some buds forming. Would have been interesting to let it go, but I’d rather have a bunch of tomatoes over an experiment (at least, when you have as many plants as I do…)

  2. It’s called a Megabloom. It is a trait of beefsteaks. It should be a monster.

  3. I definitely have a couple green tomatoes from these or similar flowers. I’ll post pictures in a new posting later.

Comments are closed.