Archive for July 22nd, 2008

Harvesting back yard garden veggies

My apologies for no pictures today.  The darn Canon Powershot S1-IS has NOT been repaired yet.  Their 7 day repair estimate has taken almost 4 weeks now…and counting.

 

I went out to the garden and picked a whole bucket of stuff this morning! Green peppers, Jalapenos, Tomatoes, decorative mini-pumpkin gourds (yes, they are way too early, maybe I’ll try to dry them), cucumber (finally) and there is a whole bucket of green beans for the kids to pick today.

There is a lot left to pick…a bunch more green beans, a big cabbage, a bed of carrots, more peppers (4 kinds!), lots of tomatoes.

The one Jack-o-Lantern pumpkin is still growing bigger and showing no signs of starting to turn orange yet. It, too, will be done too early for halloween, but we’re going to try roasting the seeds!

Over the weekend we went out of town.  I picked over the garden pretty well Friday night, harvesting zucchini, banana peppers and green beans.  I left a 3 inch zucchini on the vine.  When I checked that zucchini again Monday morning before work, the darn thing was already bigger than my forearm!!!  Oops!

The watermelon seem to be growing bigger every day.  I’m very excited about that because although I have tried growing them before, they haven’t ever given me anything edible before frost.

Still no cantaloupe set on that vine.