Bye bye Broccoli

Brassica Beds (and a couple other cold crops)  

 

 

Brassica Beds (and a couple other cold crops)

The spring broccoli is played out and it’s time to reuse much of this space in my garden.  All of the Broccoli is going to be uprooted and composted this week if the ground dries out a bit.  After the broccoli makes me a main flower head and a few side shoots I reuse the space for Kentucky Wonder bush beans.

The cabbage gets to stay for a while

The cabbage gets to stay for a while

The cabbages are growing very well with minimal bug damage so far.  I guess it has been too wet for white butterflies to come around.  They are going to stay until I have enough to start a crock of sauerkraut. 

Up next... Green Beans!

Up next... Green Beans!

So I’ll get another bed of green beans started as soon as the ground will allow.  I love green beans and they are so easy in my climate / backyard.

I need to figure out when to start my fall broccoli seedlings.  First frost comes October 14th, on average.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gardengeekette on June 17, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    your garden looks beautiful. and that last photo is so cool!

Comments are closed.