Canned: Strawberry Jam and Strawberry Syrup

My lovely wife mashing strawberries My lovely wife mashing strawberries

 

We got the last 5 quarts of strawberries at a local farm and canned up some lovely sweet treats for the next year (or two, just don’t tell the authorities).

Strawberry Jam.  6 half-pints and 4 mini-jars.

Strawberry Jam. 6 half-pints and 4 mini-jars.

 

Strawberry Syrup.  8 four-ounce jars plus leftover.

Strawberry Syrup. 8 four-ounce jars plus leftover.

Yum, yum, yum!

It should go without saying, but in case you’re new here… These canned goods were made from fine, sweet, local (less than 5 miles away), organic strawberries. The jam was made with berries, sugar and store-bought pectin.

I would have liked to keep corn out of the strawberry syrup, but the recipe called for both white sugar and corn syrup. We were in a midnight rush (literally) to use the berries before they spoiled, so we didn’t have time to find a different recipe or suitable substitution. I did have to watch out which BRAND of corn syrup I bought, as the cheaper store brands contained HFCS and a well known name brand did not.

Oh yeah, I almost forgot to mention… I also canned Rhubarb-Strawberry Jam a few weeks ago. That tastes awesome too!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Does the well known brand start with a K and end in aro?

  2. I will use the leftover strawberry pulp from the cheesecloth to make delicious smoothies!

Comments are closed.

