Pollinated Blackberry flower becomes a green berry

Blackberry flowers turning into green fruit

Click to enlarge

I just love the way that every anther in the flower leads to a single drupelet on the berry!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Blackberries are a problem around here. We love to can, cook and eat them but they grow wild everywhere. Many folks around here keep goats just to keep the blackberries under control. In the mld summer we pick them by the gallon. I love to eat them, but they would take over the town here if given half a chance.

    Steve

    Reply

  2. Looks like those berries are doing well! I am probably going to plant some thornless blackberries here. If the birds had their way, this whole place would be a blackberry thicket amongst mulberry and cherry trees interspersed with poison ivy, virginia creeper and poke. That’s what they eat and that’s what they plant. Gives me something to do when I need therapeutic weeding.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Carl on May 22, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    Actually it’s every pollinated PISTIL (or, more accurately, the ovary at the base of each pistil) that leads to a single druplet. I just love that as well! Have you followed individual flowers following pollination. If so, have you noticed if the top parts of the pistils–the stigma and style–drop off fairly soon thereafter. I’ve been wondering around the wild blackberry patch in the field near my house, in Southwest Michigan, and am finding a lot of flowers with only the ring of anthers (and, I guess, petals still attached), but with no protruding styles/stigmas in the central area. I’m curious if the successful pollination of a given pistil induces almost immediate breaking off of everything distil to the ovary.
    Carl

    Reply

    • I have been looking at diagrams and the photos taken by other people and wondering if I had used the correct term. Thank you for letting me know. I haven’t taken the time to photograph the same flower over time like that, but it would make a remarkable series of photos.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

