Espaliered Honey Crisp Apple Tree

image

My son H. and I got the new apple tree in the ground this weekend.  This is a multi-year project that will result in a 2-dimensional tree with 6 parallel horizontal arms.

So far I have chosen branches that will become 4 of the 6 arms, and 3 of those were long enough to tie to the guide wires.

image

I don’t even have the top wire in place, due to a stupid measuring error.

The tree is beginning to leaf out for the year.  Wish me luck!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Honey Crisp are THE best apples, good luck with it!

  2. Love espalier!

  3. Looks great – can’t wait to see how your tree grows over this year and the next ones.

  4. Posted by Leilani on May 10, 2013 at 11:11 am

    The results shall be interesting! Anything to ease fruit picking. 🙂

Comments are closed.