Archive for May 9th, 2010

Yearly harvest weight vs reality

I am completely interested in numbers and stats. I would *LOVE* to keep track of how many pounds of this and that I grow in the garden each year. It would interest me completely to compare how many pounds of tomatoes I got in 2010 vs 2009 or 2008.

The problem is that on a daily basis I have no motivation to find the time to weigh each thing separately after harvest and before I put it on the counter. My garden produce is usually picked immediately after I come home from an 8 hour work day and immediately before my wife and/or I make dinner. Then we clean the kitchen, put the kids to bed and at 9:00 or 9:30 pm I usually need to can something that is overflowing the counters.

Maybe I’ll just try to keep track of how many jars of each thing I end up canning and how many packages of other things I freeze. That might be do-able.

Maybe I’ll recruit my wife (who is off work all summer) to do some canning this year. 😉