Weed flower

I found this flower growing among the weeds in my yard before I mowed it last weekend. It seemed to be coming up in a bunch of wild onion.  It’s about an inch tall and less than half an inch wide and is really intricate!  The picture doesn’t really do it justice.  It lasted 2 or 3 days out of water on the counter, which surprised me.  Does anyone know what it is?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roseanne on March 28, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    Grape hyacinth maybe? Did it have any leaves?

    Reply

  2. Yes, That is a grape hyacinth and people pay good money to buy the bulbs….

    Reply

  3. Posted by kateohkatie on March 29, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Definitely a grape hyacinth – one of my favorite flowers! I even have one as a tattoo:
    DSC_0293

    I understand that they’re very hardy – they were all over my grandma’s yard, and came back every year, without prompting.

    Reply

  4. Posted by thelinencat on March 30, 2012 at 7:44 am

    I see you got your answer – grape hyacinth – I grow them in my borders as Spring flowers as my gran always used to have them in hers. They are indeed very hardy and come back year after year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

