Canning with 9 year olds

9 year old canning lid flats.

When my wife’s mother gave me her canning supplies, she had some canning lids that were purchased in 2002.  I didn’t use any of these old supplies at first because I wanted to have fewer, more explainable failures while I was learning the process.

Now that I have been canning for over 3 years, I decided to use these new old-stock lids. I have used 24 of them and only have 1 fail, and I think that one was my fault for messing with the tomatoes after they came out of the canner.

This is good news, I think! If there is ever a shortage of these lids for a few years, there won’t be any problem using up old stock.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Just because something is old, doesn’t mean it’s no good anymore, right?

    Like , for instance, me!

    Reply

    • I have often found that to be true. In fact, we grind our morning coffee beans every day with a 80-100 year old Arcade coffee grinder that has been on the wall of some member of my family since before I was born.

      Reply

  2. This is good to know as we have also aquired a few boxes of old lids with the white coating and I wasn’t sure about using them or not.

    Reply

  3. That looks darned good. You can store a lot of tasty, wholesome food and since you know where it came from you don’t have to worry about what’s in it.

    Reply

    • Thank you. Yes, that is a big part of why we are making our own food. There are so many chemicals in store-bought food that are just now being accused of causing long-term health problems. We don’t truly understand what we’re feeding ourselves when we buy it at the store.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

