Almost everything has been planted!

My wife and I have been working every free moment to get the garden together before we leave for the beach and there is more to do yet.  So far we have planted the following in 8 foot rows in our raised beds:

  • 7 rows of tomatoes
  • 4 rows of peppers
  • 1 row of sweet potatoes
  • 1 row of white potatoes
  • 1 row of snow peas
  • 1 row of cucumbers
  • 3 rows of cabbage
  • 1 row of kale (that needs to be harvested and frozen very soon)
  • 1 row of eggplant
We also have planted a zucchini hill and a brand new 20 foot row of asparagus!
We are expecting big things from our 3 beds of strawberries, and we might get an amount of cherries this year that is worth carrying inside. There are flowers on the blackberry and raspberry vines, and the grape vines are growing again. The apple tree had a few flowers as well.
There is too much to do, so you might not get pictures for a couple weeks yet. The tomatoes need trellising before I leave, the grass will probably have to be mowed twice in the next week due to the amount of rain, and then there is work and packing…wish me luck.
Here’s a teaser picture from about a week ago:
6 responses to this post.

  1. Strange, I was just thinking today that my family is overdue for a trip to the beach. We usually go about this time of year. Great minds think alike. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Wow!! Very impressive. You guys will be rolling in veggies by harvest time.

    Reply

  3. You still around out there? Hope nothing happened .

    Reply

    • Nothing happened except for my enthusiasm for blogging. I feel like I’ve covered every possible post and now I would just be starting in again with more of the same, and I hate to repeat myself. I suppose most of the people who would find my blog today weren’t around 3 years ago, so maybe it’s ok to go over everything again.

      Reply

  4. Well, don’t feel like that. People are interested in you and what you are doing. It doesn’t have to be something new and exciting you write about, I enjoy just hearing about what you have going on. I also hope to pick up useful ideas, so if you talk about something again, it’s all good for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

