Late Frost

There was patchy frost on the ground this morning at 36 degrees. I have hundreds of tiny green cherry fruit set right now, so I guess I’ll have to wait to see if they grow.  I covered 24 tomato plants and they look perfect. I lost a few early apple blossoms but most of them hadn’t come on yet.

In my area, May 3/4 has a statistical 1% chance of frost. I guess this was that lucky 1 year out of 100.

I suppose I ought to wonder about the strawberries as well. Why didn’t I cover those flowers? Probably because the greens are so hardy I just forgot.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I would have been thrilled with 36 last night. I woke to 27 this morning. That is just WRONG for May in Iowa. I haven’t been out to the garden. I’ve only got cold weather stuff out there so far but we didn’t have a frost, we had a freeze. Hopefully all my little broccoli will look OK after they thaw.

    Reply

  2. It was cold here today and still is. We have a fire going in the fireplace. I have been up here 25 years and I don’t ever remember needing a fire in May.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

