Re-useable canning lids by Tattler – Part 2

As we ate the CSA chickens, I would put all the bones and leftover bits into a 2 gallon freezer bag. Last week I couldn’t fit any more in the bag. I had the remains of about 5 chickens in there, so I needed to make stock.

I put the bones and bits and pieces in a large-ish pot and added a bunch of carrot and onion. If I had some celery I would have thrown that in too. I boiled 10 cups of water down to about 8 (it took 3 hours or so) and then poured off the richest stock I have ever made. The bones did not seem to be spent, so I added another 12 cups of water and boiled the bones again overnight, on a very low burner.

I put it all in the fridge to cool while I was at work, hoping to skim off the fat from the top before I canned it. When I pulled out the stock after work it had gelatinized so quickly that a lot of the fat was trapped in suspension. Oh well, it’ll taste good!

I was able to can 8 pints of double-strength chicken stock! It is really just delicious. The Tattler reusable canning lids did GREAT with pressure canning.

Yeah, it’s delicious.

 

P.S. Silly pretzel, you’re not even trying to look right:

6 responses to this post.

  1. As we now have our lids and rings too I am glad to here that you are still feeling good about the tattler product. I like how the lids fit down into the jar and am looking forward to using these in the future.

    Reply

  2. Huh, thanks for the tip on the reusable canning lids. Currently I use Ball lids/rings, and it drives me slightly mad that I can’t reuse the lids. I made turkey stock last week out of the Thanksgiving bird carcass (http://togetherinfood.wordpress.com/2010/12/01/creating-something-out-of-nothing-stock-compost/) — I love the taste of homemade stock. I’ll have to try your approach of re-boiling the bones overnight for a 2nd batch.

    Reply

  3. well done! jealous that you can get humanely raised chickens CSA.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

