Happy Wedding Anniversary

19 years and 3 weeks ago we began dating exclusively when you accepted my high school class ring. You were in your first year of high school and I was in my 3rd year at a different school.

18 years ago my high school class ring turned up missing, possibly lost, possibly pilfered by an ex! Oh, the drama! I really don’t miss it or wish I still had it.

17 years ago we lived many months apart when I had my first year of college. We made it!

16 years ago we lived many months apart when I went off to Basic Training and AIT for the Army National Guard. We made it!

15 years ago we got engaged after you graduated from high school. We made it a long engagement so that we would both, hopefully, graduate from college before we got hitched.

14 years ago I began an adventure in collecting the Atari 2600 game system from my youth.

13 years ago we bought the couch and love-seat that we still use in our living room. We lived on 1/5th of our 2010 income and felt fairly comfortable.

12 years ago we were married on this day. You were a beautiful bride and you are even more beautiful now. Our honeymoon trip to Florida was amazing and unforgettable. Working a second job at a local grocery store, I decided that one day I would drive my dream car.

11 years ago tomorrow I started my first big job after college. I ended up working there for 9 years.

10 years ago we were making plans for where to spend New Year’s Eve, Y2K. We had been trying for some time, with a bit of difficulty, to have a child…no such luck.

9 years ago we had our first child at home, 3 month old H.

8 years ago we knew that we were going to wait until H. was 5 years old or older before we had another child. I bought the car I had drooled over for the last 4 years, with 92,000 miles on it.

7 years ago we were caring for two little guys, the first 2 years old, the other 3 months.

6 years ago we had a plan for paying off our debt and it was well under way.

5 years ago we were living at our old address in town, still raking oak leaves on this date.

4 years ago we were settled into our new house and S’s stitches had healed nicely. We had had a few potted plants as a garden, but it didn’t produce much. Moving to a new place was an important move, because our first house was not structurally sound, but it pushed us back several months on our debt repayment plan.

3 years ago the writing was on the wall that my first job wouldn’t take me through to retirement. H. had his first day of Kindergarten.

2 years ago we met a family that helped further inspire us to be more conscious of our food and consumer choices. They have become very good friends. In the spring we had a nice vegetable garden in the back yard. In the fall we had built a little plastic greenhouse on the stairs that lead from outside to our basement and had salad in the winter. I started a new job in town that allowed me to drive about 25,000 fewer miles each year. I traded my worn out dream car (at 235,000 miles) for a mini-van.

1 year ago we celebrated paying off our debts by saving for a big family vacation, which we paid for in cash. I finally sold off the last bit of that huge Atari 2600 collection that we had moved four times. S. had his first day of Kindergarten.

Today is our 12th wedding anniversary! I love you L!

The future holds untold adventures. They are waiting there for us: family time together, birthdays, anniversaries, new schools, graduations, vacations, teaching moments, learning opportunities, chances to talk, chances to listen, for better or for worse.

P.S. My father sent us this:

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by leslie on November 21, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    I ❤ you too.. Happy Anniversary:)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ozarkhomesteader on November 21, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Your wife and children are very lucky to have you!

    Reply

  3. Posted by leslie on November 21, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Thank you! What a nice surprise on this day:) XO

    Reply

  4. what a GREAT idea for an anniversary card!! perfect idea for the decks that are missing cards. thx for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

