Bottling the Homemade Vanilla Extract

I started making some vodka-based Vanilla Extract a few months ago. It was now time to bottle it.

The vanilla bean pieces and their seeds were free-floating in the quart jars that I had been shaking from time to time and then putting back into a paper sack in the back of my closet. The chunks all needed to be strained out.

After straining two quart jars of extract (that had evaporated to about 3.5 cups each), I was able to fill ten 4-ounce bottles and three 3-tablespoon bottles with what I had made.

The best part is that the vanilla beans and seeds still have some life in them. I put them all back into one quart jar and filled it up a bit over half way with rum. In a few more months I’ll know which of the two spirits I prefer for making vanilla extract.

As an aside: Why can underage persons purchase vanilla extract? When I was 15 and working at a local ice cream shop, I often wondered as I made chocolate malts for kids younger than myself why it was OK to put a shot of 70-proof alcohol in the drink. Crazy world.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by leslie on December 11, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    It worked great in the brownie recipe! Smells delicious:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

