October garden update – 2010

The one garden bed I have active right now is growing well.  I got out and weeded it yesterday and then put some nice new plastic over it.  I picked all the radishes and had a few of them in my salad last night.  I thinned the carrots and turnips some more and probably should have thinned the lettuce, but I let them fight it out.  I had a couple extra cabbage plants, so I moved them to where the radishes had been.

Right now it’s all tucked in.  I’ll watch the temperature in there while it remains unseasonably warm.  After it cools off for winter I’ll just check it every couple weeks and see if it needs to be watered and then, hopefully, I’ll have solstice salad around Christmas time and some early spring carrots and cabbage.

Leave a Reply

