What the crap?

Women, small children and the faint of heart avert your eyes now. 🙂

The small front porch of my house has a very small corner near the door. Every few days for the last couple weeks I have been sweeping this crap up regularly:

My neighbor says we have ground squirrels and they are probably partying on the porch. Ok, why? There is no food for them anywhere in the front yard, not even acorns or tree seeds.

This is really starting to get annoying. After I clean up the mess, it will be gone for a couple days, and then all at once the whole mess is back again.

What the crap? I was even worried that it might be a rat, so I set out a couple traps to catch them and nothing entered. It seemed somehow to be bringing down the spirit of the neighborhood to have the traps sitting there on my front porch, so I removed them and the next day the poop was back.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bob Loblaw on September 24, 2010 at 6:59 am

    Well, look on the bright side. They’re not lighting it on fire in a paper bag and knocking on the door!

    Reply

  2. Count your blessings! I have a skunk that keeps spraying my front steps. If we catch him, he’s done for 😉

    Reply

  3. I take it you don’t have kitties around?

    BTW, your reflection in the door made me do a double take. Neat picture.

    Best of luck with your crap problem.

    Reply

    • Oddly enough, we do have a cat and he usually does a great job of protecting the garden, which is in the back yard. He has had rabbits and birds and moles this year.

      Yeah, I noticed the reflection after I took the pic! I love that kind of thing. It looks like now that I’ve lost 18 pounds I need to buy smaller pants. 😀

      Reply

  4. My guess would be a bat. Look up!

    Reply

    • Posted by leslie on September 26, 2010 at 8:31 pm

      Oh my I bet you are right! While I know bats are great for bugs…I do not want them having a party on my front porch! Thanks! We are going to try chili pepper and vinegar to detract!

      Reply

    • I really think that is what we have here. Thank you! We’ll have to see if the vinegar/hot pepper concoction makes them rethink their resting spot.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Reader on September 30, 2010 at 7:16 am

    We had the same problem on our deck. It was indeed bat. The person who helped setup the protective net said they might be trying to get in the attic..

    So far we don’t see any CRAP on the deck. keeping my fingures crossed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

