Whittled Down visitors

Guess who arrived at my house on their trip across the country?

L. and T. have been working on their tiny home since April, and probably planned it long before that.  They made this covered wagon, pulled by their little white car, to be their home for the next several months or longer.  They are traveling with everything they own…the rest was sold or donated before they left New Mexico.

They realized along their way that our house was on their route and accepted my invitation to visit.  I’m so happy they were able to spend time with my family and friends. We enjoyed dinner together and made a real connection.

After a visit that felt sadly too short, they had to get back on the road again, and selected their route in my driveway, connecting to someone’s WIFI.

How freeing it must be to whittle down your possessions to what you can fit in this beautiful wagon trailer home and a car trunk! I am once again inspired to continue purging myself of unnecessary junk so that it will no longer control me.

Your presence was a blessing to my family and friends, and I wish you safe and happy travels with your gypsy wagon.

P.S. Check out how their cat lives in style on the trailer tongue:

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by knittingprose on July 21, 2010 at 11:09 am

    that is the coolest concept of a small space I’ve seen yet. I’d love to see the inside. Do they have any pics online?

    Reply

    • Yes they do. Follow any of the links I included in the text and you should arrive on their blog where they detail the building process over the last 3 or 4 months.

      Reply

      • Posted by knittingprose on July 21, 2010 at 8:38 pm

        hello! how did I miss that. funny as I scrolled down the page to the comment box my cursor actually went OVER the links. *sigh* I think it’s all these kids doing it to me…

        Reply

  2. When we hosted these visitors for dinner, they rewarded us with some of the garlic they had grown that year. In late 2011 I planted that same garlic variety for the second time, and I hope to harvest quite a few in 2012.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

