I built this picnic table

My wife wanted a picnic table.  A very simple, rather large, sturdy, well-built long lasting picnic table made entirely out of wood that could be painted every year.  Yeah, she kind of was THAT specific. 🙂

After searching for free plans online, here is what I produced for about $80 worth of parts:

8 feet long, made entirely out of 2-by lumber with good carriage bolts and deck screws and covered with about 3 coats of outdoor paint.  It’s sturdy!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gardengeekette on June 11, 2010 at 7:05 am

    very nice!!

    Reply

  2. Wow – I wouldn’t normally say that a picnic table is beautiful (function over form, you know!) but yours looks lovely and exceptionally sturdy. That $80 investment will last you and your family a long time. Love the color!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Leslie on June 11, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Thank you! I love it. It’s exactly what I wanted:)

    Reply

  4. When can we come and help you use it? 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by kateohkatie on June 11, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Beautifully – you’re so handy! I love this 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by kateohkatie on June 11, 2010 at 11:24 am

    And of course I meant “beautiful” not “beautifully”. My fingers did it. Not my brain. My brain is currently shut off. See, here’s how you can tell: aljwoeirhwetiouwerhta;erijwoerihywerpoop.

    Reply

  7. Thank you all for your kind comments. I used the plans at http://wayneofthewoods.com/picnic%20table.html to make this, modified the length from 6 feet to 8 feet and used 2x lumber for the top instead of 1x. I had to look up the angle and length for the side supports on an 8 foot table. I could not have done it without the miter saw I borrowed. I can only imagine trying to cut an 11 degree angle completely by hand. I also had to add an extra bracing board to the seat area because an 8 foot width made the seats saggy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

