Lettuce harvest – May 2010

We are very much enjoying the Tom Thumb and Little Gem lettuce this year.  I’ll have to remember to start the seeds a bit earlier and get them outside a bit sooner next year.  We had two big lettuce harvests, and now it’s too warm for them.  Lettuce begins to taste bitter like the inside of a dandelion stem if it gets too much heat.

My good friends taught me to wash the lettuce in a big stock pot.  It’s a lot easier than what I was doing. The soaking/washing step probably does draw a bit of the bitter taste out too. If you haven’t harvested your midwest lettuce, better eat it soon!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by kateohkatie on May 27, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Mine is looking sad and wilty 😦 (I need to blog that soon…) Guess I should try and salvage what I can?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

