Some like it hot (compost pile)

Here is my compost pile, hidden from the neighbors by evergreens on two sides, and kinda-sorta hidden from my view by a chain-link fence.  Yesterday we needed some of the really good stuff from the bottom to use in one of the raised beds. I shoveled back the layers of grass clippings and newspaper that I had added this week on Tuesday or Wednesday and beheld an impressive sight.

Steam!

On a day of perhaps 60 degrees in the shade, I had dug into the hot cooking core of a 150 degree compost pile.  Watching the steam rise was quite impressive and I called over the kids and my wife to all have a look and feel it.  H. was very impressed that this actually happened naturally, and had the sudden realization that a big component of all dirt everywhere was rotted dead things. 🙂

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by kateohkatie on May 3, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    What great timing on this post – a co-worker and I were JUST talking about composting! I may start a small compost bin – I hate to think of all the yummy nutrients we’re throwing away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

