Apple Tree in May – 2010

The apple tree is acting like it loves it’s new home.  It has been in the ground for about 3 weeks now and has flowered.  A few of the flowers seem to be enlarging into little green apples for us.

I don’t know if it’s too stressful to ask the tree to actually produce apples for us this first year while it is still growing new roots, but I do think I’m going to leave at least 2 of them on there just for fun.

I didn’t notice how off-balance looking the tree was until we got it home.  All the longest branches are growing from one side for some reason.  It will get pruned next year.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Leslie on May 3, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    I hope we did well with the eggshells!

    Reply

  2. I very reluctantly picked the tiny blossoms off my newly planted apples this evening. It was rather heartbreaking. But, I think mine are a bit smaller than yours. sigh… maybe next year….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

