Brewing Rhubarb Vodka

Inspired by a post last July on the blog ‘Put Up or Shut Up!’, and a bunch of rhubarb that I got from farmer L. ten days ago on a wednesday night pick-up, I have decided to try a fruit infused cocktail.

What you see in the picture here is a half-gallon jar, awaiting a six-week rest at the top of my canning pantry.  Inside I put roughly 3 cups of chopped rhubarb, about a half cup of white sugar and then enough vodka to fill it.

I suppose I will shake the jar from time to time just to make sure everything mixes happily in there.  Then, after 6 weeks, I am supposed to filter the solids out of this and discard them, keeping the delicious fruity vodka.

I’m actually going to cheat the time frame by a day or two so that we can have this on the Friday a week before we leave for vacation.  I hope it tastes good!

EDIT: I posted about the finished product.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Let me know how this turns out, looks tasty…..but isn’t raw rhubarb poisonous or does the vodka take care of that? Love you blog!
    QH

    Reply

    • I’ll definitely post about this one again in a few weeks. The stems of rhubarb don’t have many oxalates, and so are harmless, raw or cooked. The leaves are the part you don’t want to eat too many of.

      Reply

  2. […] by Jimmy Cracked-Corn in DIY, canning, life happens. 1 Comment I mentioned that I was making some Rhubarb infused vodka late in April.  This is what it looked like the first […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

