Going away for the weekend

No, you can’t come rob my house, it will be occupied…just not by my wife and I. We get to drive 8 hours to a wedding up north and have an entire weekend without the kids! 🙂

Last night I planted two hanging baskets with “Florida Basket” tomato plants. I also moved every plant out of the seedling room and outdoors. Now I see that the weathermen have revised Friday and Saturday’s expected low temperatures DOWN to 40 and 37 degrees. I’m going to have to move all the tomatoes back somewhere indoors and put up a few lights over them tonight.

The tomatoes could actually survive 40 and 37 degrees, but that’s just what is forecast. Who knows exactly what we’ll get while I am away?

There is still a mound of clay soil near the apple tree and I did not plant out the berries yet, but they will have to wait until next week!

Honestly it will be nice to get back to actual Spring weather, not this immediate shift into 85 degree summer days. The peas and broccoli will appreciate it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kateohkatie on April 15, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Ooh have fun with the wedding and kid-free weekend! 🙂

    So, we’re going out of town this weekend too. Should I bring my plants inside? They’re all still alive (!!!) except for two of the peppers which I gave to a co-worker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

