Floppy tomatoes

Sometimes even when you know how to do something…even when you have already done it correctly in the past, you can get lazy.

  1. Last year some time towards the end of seedling season my oscillating fan quit working. I tried fixing it in the fall, but was unsuccessful.
  2. I knew (know) how important it is to have a fan blowing over indoor seedlings to increase the strength of their stems so that they will have the strength to stand up to mother nature when they are moved outdoors.
  3. I ignored my past success in this area and neglected to provide a fan to my seedlings this year until tonight.
  4. The seedlings are not only VERY FLOPPY but they are also poorly rooted because without a fan providing some evaporation they sat in wet soil much longer than they should have.

I can only hope that adding a fan now will not be too late.  Poor tomatoes!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thelinencat on April 9, 2010 at 2:14 am

    Ahh Jimmy you are so wise, my poor tomatoes are suffering the same fate right now, I have removed their seed leaves and planted them up very deep in the hope they will form more roots up the stems but it’s not looking good. Hope you have better success with yours!

    Beth

    Reply

  2. Posted by Shari on April 9, 2010 at 9:32 am

    I didn’t know that you needed to do this…no wonder my tomatoes are so weak. If I plant them deep do you think it will work?

    Reply

  3. Repotting tomatoes very deep is an excellent idea that works very well. However, my plants were so soft and floppy last night that I was almost not able to pot them up without damaging them.

    Reply

  4. Shoot, I had no idea you were supposed to have a fan on your seedlings, I hope mine aren’t floppy…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

