More work done on the two new beds

I now have both new 4×8 beds leveled and anchored down. I am making these beds lasagna style with no tilling. After getting the frame anchored down I broke free the sod and about 4 inches of dirt underneath. I simply turned the sod upside down and put it back in place to rot as the bottom layer, then added layers of chopped leaves that weren’t taken care of last year and dark brown semi-decomposed straw from one of last year’s bales. I still need to get some bagged soil to top it off and then these will get strung up as square foot gardens. Ran out of daylight, energy and money last weekend, but I’ll be back at it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

