Stock up on canning lids

1108275_2

“Every time I went to the grocery store (actually at least 75% of the time) I picked up a little box of 1 dozen lids.”

How I did it: Every time I went to the grocery store (actually at least 75% of the time) I picked up a little box of 1 dozen lids. Over the course of a year I didn’t notice the expense because a dozen lids costs less than $2.00. I now have one year’s worth of lids (about 24 dozen) stocked away. Now if there is a single-year shortage of canning lids for any reason, I can feel impervious to the shortage.

Lessons & tips: There is only ONE FACTORY in the USA making canning lids.  Am I the only one worried about this?

It took me 1 year.

It made me comfortable

5 responses to this post.

  1. What a great idea! I’ll have to remember this.

    Reply

  2. You are not the only one. Check out Lehmans. They have a great deal on bulk canning lids. Of course then you are spending a bunch all at once. Great idea to spread it out.

    Reply

  3. Great idea except every time I go to the grocery store, I notice that they are out!!

    Reply

    • I think that some stores treat canning supplies as a seasonal item. That definitely happens at our Wal-Mart, but I don’t shop there. Perhaps the stores I do shop just don’t need that two feet of shelf space back as badly to rotate stock in the off season.

      Reply

  4. Hello, I recently started storing surplus canning items. I purchased several cases of canning supplies that were being marked down in a store that only sells them as a seasonal item. I have been thinking that I need to stock up on the canning lids and what a great idea to purchase one pack of these each time I shop. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

