New shelves for canned goods

Left side pantry shelves

We have a closet where we are keeping some of our canned goods. There was a lot of wasted space on the left and right sides, so I am building shelves to completely utilize this area. I finished one today. Ten shelves, ten inches deep, can now hold about 120 jars of food. The height spacing of the shelves was designed with quart and pint jars in mind. The other side will get a twin cabinet tomorrow.

EDIT: I decided to photoshop together two of the pictures I took to create a composite that shows the whole thing.

Shown at left are sweet pickle slices, dill slices, dill spears, beets, pizza sauce, pasta sauce, tomatoes, salsa, sauerkraut, ketchup, venison and peaches.

The other side will have asparagus, corn, applesauce, stock, soups and more tomato products.

TRIVIA: Did you know that “1 inch” boards are exactly three-quarters of that after they are finished?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Oh my goodness! Those shelves are awesome! Good job! And your canned goods look amazing! Isn’t it just so satisfying to see your hard worked lined up like that??

    Reply

  2. Awesome! I love how home canned goods are so beautiful. Mine are scattered throughout the garage. I really should line them up neatly somewhere like you’ve done.

    Reply

  3. You are so handy like that. L is so lucky.

    Reply

  4. Love your shelves, too. And are those peaches? SO. JEALOUS. As much as I love Maine, I so wish peaches were more readily available here….

    Reply

  5. Thanks! Yes, those are Carl Star peaches from Missouri. You have reason to be jealous, they are like candy. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Hello Mr. Cracked-Corn,

    Just visiting back from my blog Foolery, where you read my canning post. I have one more canning post in me, and that’s probably it. But I’ll try to remember to let you know when I post it! Thank for visiting, and those shelves are fantastic. I’m now craving peaches and pizza sauce.

    Reply

  7. Those shelves look fantastic as do all your preserved goods. i love how colourful they all are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

