Jimmy Cracked Corn

Mirai sweet corn, dried

Mirai sweet corn, dried

Seeds for another year

Seeds for another year

When I opened the packet of Mirai sweet corn seeds this spring, I thought I had gotten a bad pack. Each seed was wrinkled and flat and completely unlike any other corn I had planted or seen while dry.

It was a hybrid, so I don't know what I'll get next year.

It was a hybrid, so I don't know what I'll get next year.

Surprisingly, it grew. Very nicely too. I have to say, Mirai sweet corn was the most delicious sweet corn I have ever tasted.

How tasty was it, you ask?

So sweet that I ate every ear without butter or salt. So sweet that I ate some of it raw. So sweet that it was actually difficult to cook with…the leftovers would be too sweet to eat. It might as well be grown as a sugar crop.

Mirai produced small ears of corn on short 5 or 6 foot stalks. Most stalks had two ears of corn. This one ear of corn yielded about a half-pint of seeds. Supposedly hybrids don’t come true from seeds. I’ll have to try.

IMG_9103

5 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t know why everyone hates on hybrids. You get more vigor than from one that has been backcrossed for years like an heirloom. You get a bit more variation, (think Punnett squares from high school), but you also have a chance at selecting a new and exciting variation based on the parents. Hybrids rock!

    Reply

  2. I’m not sure I was being completely negative towards the hybrid. I’m going to give it a chance and see what grows from these seeds. I’ve just heard that where seed saving is concerned, heirloom plants have a MUCH higher chance of growing the same thing again the next year.

    Reply

  3. Would it have been good for making corn bread?

    Reply

  4. The problem with saving seed from hybrids is that todays hybrids are inbred hybrids. That is, they are a hybrid of two inbred lines and when you save seed from them they revert back to their inbred lines and you get very small scrawny plants and scrawny ears. Worse yet you sometimes get nothing as they can be sterile.

    I now grow the open pollinated heirloom varieties Golden Bantum and Stowell’s evergreen and have as good success as I had in the past with modern hybrids and I like the taste better. The modern hybrids are very sweet and for me so sweet that they don’t taste like corn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

