Back yard veggie garden now has a cold frame

 

Cold frame sitting in a garden bed.

Cold frame sitting in a garden bed.

I made a cold frame Sunday from a 2ft x 3ft window section that I saved when a replacement was installed.

 

Inside, a 72 peat pellet mini greenhouse, thermometer and prop stick

Inside, a 72 peat pellet mini greenhouse, thermometer and prop stick

It’s a small, low cold frame, but very sufficient in size to hold big seedling tray.  It’s about 12 inches high at the rear and about 9 inches high at the front.  I set it facing the south on one of my garden beds.

 

 

Here it is propped open.  Aren't I the clever photographer?

Here it is propped open. Aren't I the clever photographer?

I planted 72 peat pellets today at lunch time.  60 were more broccoli, plus 6 arugula and 6 “green ice” lettuce.  I put the tray out in the cold frame to see if they’ll grow for me outdoors.

 

 

Only 4 degrees warmer than outside.  Maybe better tomorrow.

Only 4 degrees warmer than outside. Maybe better tomorrow.

We’re currently having a warm spell, but our average last frost date is April 21.  We’ll see what the next 5 weeks bring for these seeds.

3 responses to this post.

  1. P.S. Scroll back up and look at those shadows coming in from the West (left side of the photos). In my unique backyard I am thinking that a southwest or even entirely west facing orientation might work better. Opinions?

    Reply

  2. I can’t wait to try the broccoli!

    Reply

  3. Nice job reusing something that you would’ve normally tossed out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

