Dryer vent re-routed to greenhouse

Upon the advice of one of my commentors (thank you again!) I ran my nearby clothes dryer vent down into the greenhouse.  Currently the outside world is 37 degrees but the running clothes dryer is keeping my greenhouse air about 30 degrees warmer.  It’s also so humid in there that it’s literally raining.  The floor has a drain, so no worries!

photo-library-2908photo-library-2907What a fun experiment this is turning out to be!  The lettuce seeds sown indoors are sprouting nicely.  The radish seeds sown in the greenhouse are taking their time germinating in the cold.  I saw a chart that said they’d take a month or so with the temps I have been maintaining.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Leslie on December 14, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Love it! You have laundry duty all winter:)

  2. Posted by Leslie on December 14, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I really can’t believe how warm it is! I feel like I am not really outside!!!!

  3. That’s fantastic!! Very creative…

Comments are closed.

