Seed Research / Garden Planning for 2009

This post is for my own benefit, mostly.  I’m going to make it stick up to the top for a time while I plan.

 

1.5 beds of tomatoes for 2009, 18 good plants.  Start 30, hope for 24 good growers.

 

1 bed (12 plants) for salsa and salads

  • 2-3 Early Tomatoes
  • 4-5 Big Tomatoes
  • The rest Disease resistant
    • Still looking

1/2 bed (6 plants) for sauces

  • Still looking

 

Going to have two beds of broccoli first thing in the spring.  The beds are 8 feet wide and 6 feet deep.  It’s a bit of a reach to the center, but I’m not going to remake them differently at this point.  Last year I planted both broccoli and cauliflower with the square foot gardening recommendation of one plant per square foot.  Small Miracle claims to grow full sized heads when spaced as close as 8 inches apart.  Coronado Crown claims 6 to 8 inch floret-packed heads with very little center stem.  Early Dividend claims to set “walloping 1 foot heads” (yeah RIGHT) just 45 days after setting out 8-week-old transplants.  Might have to test that theory.

The cauliflower didn’t do well and was pulled out, so the broccoli ended up having a staggered grid pattern of approximately two square feet each.  By June they were so big they were shading out most everything else anyway, so I can’t imagine how it would have worked to have twice as many.

In spring 2009 I’m going to have two beds of early spring broccoli, so I’m going to do an experiment:

  • In one 6×8 bed I’ll plant every-other 12 inch square…24 plants in 48 square feet.
  • In another 6×8 bed I’ll plant using an approximate 14 inch spacing, giving me 5 rows of 7 plants…35 in 48 square feet.

I’ll compare yields to see if the 24 plants each grow noticeably bigger heads than the 35.  Maybe I should go to the trouble of weighing them?

 

Tomatoes get 4 square feet each, but don’t need the room until June.  First thing in April, plant a continuous perimeter around the full tomato bed of 25 day radishes.  It should be equivalent to a 26 foot row and they shouldn’t be bothered too much by the minimal shade of baby tomato plants.  Maybe even get wild and crazy and plant two rows around, first a row 6-8 inches in, and two weeks later a row at the outermost perimeter.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by SRK on December 5, 2008 at 7:58 am

    I don’t know how you do it, but you’re amazing for having so much patience to put this all together. ^^

Comments are closed.

