Hot Pepper Tomato Sauce

With a few green jalapeños and one habañero from the pepper plants I pulled before frost, I made up some of “Jessica’s Hot Pepper Sauce.”

I normally do not like the site About.com, but I do enjoy the sauce that I made using this recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups vinegar
  • 6 chile peppers (at least one cayenne, a variety tastes best) minced
  • 6 oz can tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • Olive oil

Preparation:

  • Saute your peppers and garlic in about a tablespoon of olive oil.
  • Stir in the tomato paste and half the vinegar.
  • Bring to boil and add the rest.

This turned out a bit thick and the recipe completely forgot to add salt.  I actually unbottled this after my first tasting and added at least a teaspoon full of salt to the recipe, if not twice that.

I have been keeping it out at room temperature because it won’t run through the neck of the bottle I chose for it when it’s cold.  It’s pretty acidic, so we’ll see how long it lasts.  Maybe I ought to just pour it into a jar and refrigerate it.

Don’t let me fool you with those last few negative observations…I really like this hot sauce!  I will save the modified salt-added recipe and make this again.  I might try to modify it further to remove the oil so I can safely can it in quarter-pint jelly jars and perhaps increase the liquid by a couple tablespoons.

