The ONE plant that lost it’s label!

This year I planted 4 varieties of tomato.  Gardener’s Delight cherry tomato, Super Marmande, Rutgers and Cold Set.  I started them all from seed in March and along the way, one seedling cup lost it’s label.  I guessed at what it was, and planted it with two other Rutgers.

Now that it has grown, it has set a large number of 3 inch pear-shaped green tomatoes.  I didn’t plant a pear-shaped tomato seed…on purpose.  I don’t even own a packet of this type of seed.  Strange things are afoot in the backyard garden.

So what’s more likely?  Do you think I got a random seed that was in the wrong packet, or do you think my seed came from a tomato that got cross-pollinated before it was saved?

Green plum tomato...not mine.

Green plum tomato...not mine.

This picture isn’t from my garden…I found it here and used it without permission.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shae on July 17, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    You got screwed? O.o

  2. Posted by mbrianaepler on July 18, 2008 at 1:08 am

    The one in the picture looks a whole lot like our San Marzanos from last year. Weird! I’m growing basil, and there are some green basil seedlings mixed with the purple ones I planted – sort of like the ugly ducklings!!

  3. Sorry, that was me. ; )

  4. San Marzanos maybe? What I’ve read about those sounds like I’ll love them! Great…thank you!

  5. […] from the closest corner…Rutgers, Super Marmande, Gardener’s Delight, Cold Set and the mystery pear tomato that snuck into my seed packet. Closer shot of the sad, dying […]

Comments are closed.

