Tempting Tomato Fate

I planted out four of my 12 tomato plants last night.  One each of Super Marmande, Rutgers, Gardener’s Delight and Cold Set.

According to the chart I found for Illinois historic temperatures, after April 24th there is only a 10% chance of having another 32 degree night.

Tonight’s low is supposed to be 41, and the forecast shows the daily low rising for the next 6 nights. Hopefully there won’t be any frost tonight, but even if there is, I have more plants ready.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for visiting Henbogle. I have not tried the others, but Gardener’s Delight is my favorite red cherry tomato. It has a tendency to crack, but is so sweet and prolific that it doesn’t matter.

    If the temps are cold, a hot cap made from a gallon sized plastic milk jug with the bottom cut off will really help heat lovers like tomatoes. You can see a picture here: http://henbogle.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/happiness-is-gardening/

    I went to Bradley U in Peoria, so it will be a blast from the past to visit Illinois through your garden!

  2. I’d love to see a post about how you plan to stake your tall crops. 🙂

  3. Ha! I’ll get some pictures after I’ve made them. 😀 So far I’ve got one teepee built for 3 of the 12 tomatoes. Still need support for 9 others, cukes, beans, melons, etc.

  4. Posted by Shae on April 20, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    I’d like to see those too. 😀

Comments are closed.

