Fish Auction and the Bathroom

This past weekend my wife was out of town. There was a fish auction in Peoria, which is 125 miles from me on 2-lane roads. I really needed to get rid of some of these snails, so I registered as a seller and hauled my boys down there.

We arrived at the auction at Limestone High School outside Peoria at 9 a.m. and hung out there all day. Before we checked in, the boys needed the bathroom. I was told it was WAAAAY down the hall. Probably 100 yards from the cafeteria where the auction was to be held.

I checked in all my bags full of plants and animals that I was selling and the auction started. I kept the boys busy with snacks, coloring, toys, and playing with the chairs. They were great, by the way, except for one annoying thing.

Between 9 a.m. and 2:30 p.m., these boys needed the bathroom SEVEN TIMES. And they weren’t kidding either, they genuinely needed to go again. SEVEN TIMES! It was at least 100 yards down there each time and, oh my, was I tired of doing that walk!

I sold off about 110 snails including 36 large adults and a bag of about 80 tiny ones for feeders. I bought a couple paintings and a tank heater. I exercised EXTREME RESTRAINT from buying more tanks as they were below dirt cheap…basically giving them away!

We left a bit early and I gave half of the money I made as a seller to the fish club that was running the auction. It was only $15 or $20 and they hadn’t charged me to sell, so I figured I ought to support them. The other half paid for the paintings I bought.

Our next stop was Chuck E. Cheese’s and that place was a mad-house! The next time you take your kids there, imagine being an employee there–every day. Scary thought!

Finally we drove to Kewanee and spent the night at my parents’ house. It was an awesome weekend and the boys have never been better for me. They were happy when their mom finally got home though.

