Oh boy, sister

image

Most mornings before work I walk through the garden. In the three-sisters garden it’s the same thing every day.  More male flowers, no new fruit. I don’t have a clue what I did wrong, but from the entire plot right now I seem to have one spaghetti squash and one little acorn squash.  The rest is just vines and pretty flowers.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I wish I knew something about gardening, but I don’t have any tips! It looks like you’re on the right track with it, though. :)

    Reply

  2. Posted by pamela on August 9, 2013 at 1:50 am

    I had the same problem, just male flowers, and then there was a female, but I had to beg a male flower from someone else to pollinate it. In my case it was due to the plant being stressed (in a container, and drying out between waterings). I have them in an open bed this year, and I am giving them a foliar feed with the run-off from a worm bin, so I am hoping for better luck.

    Reply

  3. The same is happening to me as we’ll. I’m not a gardener, per se, but this is my 3rd year with the garden & I’ve never had this problem. Last year I couldn’t give my squash & tomatoes away fast enough! Would love to know why this is happening!

    Reply

  4. So, there are a few questions about your squash you need to ask. Did you start them in pots and then transplant them out? If they were stressed by that process and/or rootbound, they may switch their biochemistry to making only male flowers. If your soil is too rich in nitrogen as opposed to potassium, magnesium and calcium, your plants may only produce male flowers. Finally, there are some cultivars that have been bred to be male or female plants so you have to be careful to plant both sexes. At any rate, try picking the male flowers and making them up into wonderful pasta sauces, or risotto.

    Reply

    • No, I don’t start squash or cucumbers or melons inside. I waited until the ground was warm and then direct-seeded them outdoors. The soil actually MIGHT be a little rich in nitrogen. That’s an interesting idea I need to check on. Thank you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

