Raised bed garden paths mulched

image

image

image

Yesterday I found the time to begin the project of covering up the rocks that the spring flood washed down into my garden.  I considered conceeding to rock pathways, but soon discovered that it hurts to kneel on rocks.

Usually by this time of year I am just weeding and harvesting and canning.  The garden wants a bit more attention this year. I have replaced almost every raised bed frame, converting 6×8 beds to 4×8 size as I go.

This has been an absolutely amazing year for tomatoes.  My harvest has been great…about 3 pounds a day for the last 2 weeks from 27 plants. There are LOTS more green tomatoes waiting to size up and ripen.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Blue Angel on July 29, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    an acquaintance gardener just told me he doesn’t use straw because it encourages bugs and issues. victory garden does. any feed back?

    alwaysdc*

    Reply

    • This is my first year using straw seriously. I can see that the birds are eating bugs in there every day. I imagine that if I leave it, many bugs will have a nice home to overwinter in.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

