The Good and The Bad in July so far

The Good - Harvested 2013 Garlic

The Good – Harvested 2013 Garlic

Garlic as far as the eye can see.  I harvested all the garlic from both my own back yard and the farm location where I ran a trial garden over the last year.  This year it didn’t grow quite as large as last year, but I still think it was a success.  I need to get it a bit more separated for curing, but right now it’s so hot and dry out that it’s drying nicely even in a heap.  I’ll hang them from the rafters soon.  With a little bit of luck this garlic, replanted, will turn into a for-profit crop in 2014

The Bad - They took my corn!

The Bad – They took my corn!

Last night when I went to bed I had about 30 ears of sweet corn JUST about ready to pick in my 10’x10′ three sisters garden.  This morning there were about 7 or 8 little ones left.  Something–probably Raccoons–harvested all the rest and removed them while I was sleeping 20 feet away.  They knocked down and broke the corn stalks, so now the pole beans have nothing to grow on either.  And obviously if they ate here once, they could be back for the cucumbers and melons that are starting to grow on all those vines.  This is what we get for no longer letting our cat(s) outside.

But enough bad–More good!  I have been eating tomatoes every night all week.  This year of trialling new varieties has exposed me to at least 2 more favorites that are doing quite well in my yard.  I will definitely add “Church” to my permanent list of tomatoes to grow, and I think “Pink Sweet” will be on there as well.  I will review them here within the next week or 3.

My 8 pepper plants seems to be doing better than average this year.  I usually don’t get to pick any peppers until August and this year they are already sizing up and producing lots of fruit.

How is your garden growing?

9 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve had a little bad luck too. About a week or so back we had a hail storm that tore up my garden pretty bad. It’s trying to come back and I think everything will be alright but it was quite a setback. My cabin tomato is coming back and looking good.

    Reply

  2. Nice garlic haul! And I love that you plant a three sisters patch too, same result as mine last year except it was squirrels that helped themselves to the corn. I didn’t plant one this year but might try again next year.

    Reply

  3. I’ve never had the courage to grow corn. Seems like so much goes wrong with it! :/ Meanwhile, I have added Super Fantastic and Celebrity to my must-plant-every-year list.

    Reply

  4. Tomatoes, I mean.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Rachel on July 24, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    Summer squash is a smashing success. Strawberries were so much happier than last year, but have such a short harvest window.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

