Visited Stark Bros. Nursery yesterday

We had a family outing yesterday.  I can’t believe it has been 3 years since we went to the Stark Bros. Nursery last.  We came home with a truck full of awesome plants.

My wife got the best ferns ever. They are in 12 inch hanging baskets, but are so big and bushy they are about 4 feet wide. It might be a pain to keep them watered. I wonder if we could get them a bigger hanging pot?

I came home with an apple tree that is going to be espaliered. I wanted a McIntosh, but they didn’t have that variety, so I settled for Honey Crisp, which is also delicious.  I have room for 2 espaliered apple trees, so I’ll add the McIntosh later.  I got the bottom two rows of training wires set up against my back yard fence on the inside, but we still need to plant the tree.  That will probably happen tomorrow evening. I really hope this works out, but I think it will. I’ve done a lot of reading and have a good grasp on the concept and process.

I also bought some six packs of tomato seedlings, because I killed most of mine in the seed starting room this year by overwatering them.  I have backup seeds started, but they haven’t even germinated yet.

It was an excellent weekend outing and was just what we needed to make a cool overcast day better.

7 responses to this post.

  1. I have a couple of your cabin tomatoes that are doing pretty good. I repotted them to 20 ounce Styrofoam cups so they will get a better root system. I’ll try to keep you updated on their progress. I usually set my tomatoes out around mothers day here in mid Mo.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leslie@vigorfamily.com on April 29, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    Super fun!

    Reply

  3. COOL!!! We bought two apple trees from Stark Bros. last fall and have been very pleased to see the sweet little sticks sprouting leaves out back. I’d love to visit them sometime.

    Reply

  4. I think you made out on top with the Honeycrisp tree – those apples are amazing and so expensive!

    Reply

    • Amazing tasting apples. But not expensive unless you make me add in the price of gas and lunch. The tree itself was a bareroot 5′ whip, priced at $19.99. 20% off for customer appreciation day. My full punch card from my last visit saved me an additional $5. I ended up spending about $12 on it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

