The weekends are not long enough

I am trying to get some changes made and get the yard ready for another year of gardening.

This Saturday I tore down and hauled away the kids’ tree house.  It was built from pine and had several rotten spots that made me scared to continue letting kids play in there.  We’ll most likely put another fruit tree or 3 in that spot.  Or maybe 2 more garden beds.

I also cut down and hauled away one truckload of dead arborvitae bushes.  There will be 2 or 3 more loads of those, at least.

I have plans printed up so I can figure out how much lumber and supplies to buy to build a little shed.  I have a neat piece of glass that I’m thinking of using as the window.  It used to be a coffee table.  The shed will [most likely] go where my least productive, most shaded garden bed had been sitting, way down in the corner.  I hope to run water and power out there.

I am trying soaker hoses at the base of my tomato plants this year, which I’ll cover with a thick layer of straw. I have quite a few new varieties of tomatoes going in for testing.

Things are greening up, so I’ll be getting the camera out soon, soon…..

3 responses to this post.

  1. Wow sounds like a busy and productive time for you! I too wish weekends were longer, there is just so much I want to do, but never enough time! Good luck with all your projects!

    Reply

  2. I agree! NEVER enough time in a weekend. I need a day between Sat and Sun. Love the little covered bed you have there. Look forward to seeing how that shed turns out.

    Reply

  3. Posted by pamela Woodroffe on April 13, 2013 at 10:30 am

    Good to hear how your growing is going. ~we are 2 weeks late with everything in the UK, due to a cold and wet spring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

