Okra time

According to my plant it was okra time.  I haven’t ever had okra time before, so I didn’t really know what the moves were.  I ended up putting these into a quart jar with dill pickle brine and straight into the refrigerator.  They’re pretty good that way.

Isn’t the okra flower beautiful?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Just a suggestion, pick that Okra when it is smaller. It will be much more tender that way. I pick mine no more than 2-3 inches long.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thebeadden on July 14, 2012 at 9:11 am

    I’d grow it just for the flower!

    Reply

  3. Okra is a member of the hibiscus family. You can really see it in the flower. I don’t grow it here, although I probably should, but it isn’t one of our favorite veggies. So I don’t give it garden space. Pickled is really the only way I really like okra, and your first commenter is right. Pick the okras when they are smaller and they will be much more tender.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Christie on July 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    OKRA!!! We grew okra on a whim last year (had NO idea what to do with it), and by the end of the summer, the plants were about 7′ tall. They produced ALL summer long! I ended up processing, slicing up, and freezing bags and bags of the stuff. No joke, we plan to make this okra gumbo recipe tomorrow from some of last summer’s stores: http://southernfood.about.com/od/crockpotsoup/r/bl00109c.htm. (It’s really, really delicious!).

    Reply

  5. Posted by AllyAlly on July 16, 2012 at 10:34 am

    My okra has REALLY taken off, I had no idea what to expect but they are about 5′ tall now and we pull off 10-20 okra per night. If you pull them when they are about pinky length and throw them on a cookie sheet with olive oil and some seasoning and roast them at about 400 for 10 minutes or so (until they are a little bit brown and crispy) they taste VERY much like french fries! We eat them that way a few times a week and pickle the rest :) They are quite the delight and are growing lovely despite the 115 degree weather :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

