Yes, 2012 Sauerkraut is in the crock!

This Mandolin slicer was put into service again this year as I packed 15 pounds of cabbage into my wonderful 4 gallon crock.

At this point in the process, I had just pounded down the first 5 pounds of cabbage.  I work in 5 pound mini-batches to ensure that I salt everything evenly all the way through.  5 pounds of cabbage gets 3 tablespoons of salt.  I repeated this process 3 times. I had room in the crock for 20 pounds, but I was frankly very tired of slicing.

I weighed down the cabbage and now I just leave it sitting in a cool corner until it becomes sauerkraut.  All I have to do is check it once in a while to see if it’s done and if there is any mold floating on the surface of the brine.

That gallon jug has a big dinner plate under it. I’m using this as a weight to ensure an anaerobic environment for fermentation.

Then just cover the whole thing with a towel that your aging children are too embarassed to take to the community pool.  In a week or 3 the kraut will be done bubbling and ready to eat or can.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by billcarpenter4 on July 13, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Two questions. Did you add any liquid or is it just cabbage and salt? Where did you get your crock?

    Reply

    • The crock had been in my parents garage for over 30 years before I asked them for it. These cabbage were •almost• moist enough that I didn’t need additional brine, but I did add a little at the end just to help with evaporation.

      Reply

  2. I wish I liked sourkraut. I would also like to know where you got your crock.

    And, I nominated you for two awards. Check out the post on Monday!

    Reply

  3. My wife said when she was a child, a neighbor made kraut and left it outside on a table to cure. She and the other kids in the hood would eat most of it themselves!

    Reply

  4. Posted by thebeadden on July 14, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Ewwwww! The smell of it just won’t allow my mouth to open. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

