Green Tomato Size

Look how big my green tomatoes are getting!  These are still from the first flush on the Giant Syrian plant.  Too bad only 1 out of 25 flowers are turning into green tomatoes now.  They don’t like to set fruit when the weather is this hot.

Soon these will be ripe and I’ll be able to can up some salsa!

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Leslie@vigorfamily.com on July 6, 2012 at 9:37 am

    They will make great sauce!

    Reply

  2. My tomatoes are sitting around being green too. I wonder if the plants also don’t like to ripen at hot temps; I know they don’t like to set fruit. It has been really way too hot here for over a week.

    Reply

  3. We had huge tomatoes last summer, but they never ripened in our English summer, and then we got blight, and had to put the plants in the dustbin.

    Reply

  4. I don’t believe I’m even getting one in 25. I probably won’t get very many setting until September, actually. Enjoy!!

    Reply

  5. You have been having brutal weather but your tomatoes look good. I don’t have many tomatoes on my plants. The blossoms weren’t setting because it was to cool (40’s) in the evenings and mornings here in Maine. Hopefully some will start setting now or I won’t’ have ripe tomatoes by the time we get our early frosts.

    Reply

    • I can’t even imagine fighting cold nighttime lows late in June or early in July! Gardening is such a struggle some times I am surprised at how well the grocery stores can stay stocked up.

      Reply

      • I totally agree Jimmy. It will be interesting to see what happens in the produce departments this year with such bad growing conditions everywhere. I’m sure prices will go higher.

        Reply

  6. Beautiful!!! I am soooo jealous! ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

