Carrots Pulled last weekend

I pulled up my carrots Sunday morning.  They were the best I have ever grown, and probably the best I could have done with my shady location.  Not a single one of them would have been supermarket-acceptable.  They were either worm bitten, cracked open, too small, tapered too fast, split rooted, etc, etc.  They’re good enough for me.  I got probably 6 or 8 pounds of edible carrot from six 8-foot rows, but I didn’t pick anything in the last 4 feet of the last 3 rows because they just didn’t grow in the shade there.

I washed them outside with the hose and broke off the green tops.

Then I washed them better inside.  After the picture above I cut off the bottoms and tops of each one.  They are in the crisper drawer in the refrigerator awaiting their date with multiple freezer bags.

As I said, this was definitely the best I can do with my dirt, my skills, my location right now.  I won’t give carrots a serious try again  next year.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Lovely! I can almost smell that fresh-carrot smell. Our carrot seeds just never grew at all here. Happy gardening

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leslie@vigorfamily.com on July 4, 2012 at 7:46 am

    Beautiful sight!

    Reply

  3. Posted by pobept on July 4, 2012 at 8:14 am

    Never give up. I would be thrilled to have a carrot crop as nice as yours.

    Reply

  4. I haven’t pulled my carrots yet, they are still growing. But I never leave them in the garden the way my friend Tim does because I have thousands of tiny black ants that think that there is nothing more convenient than living INSIDE your food source…. and carrots are a great home.

    Love the tomato on the side bar…

    Reply

    • I left these carrots in the ground for 80 or 90 days, so they could size up a bit. It was too long. I didn’t see any ants, so I’m assuming the ones with holes in them had white fly larva.

      I hope I get another heart-shaped tomato this year! Thank you for stopping by!

      Reply

  5. Posted by billcarpenter4 on July 4, 2012 at 9:39 am

    Awesome! You should try making some maple carrots with some of the ones you have harvested.

    Reply

  6. Your crop looks great to me; I think that supermarket carrots are bland, so I hope that these are great tasting. We found out the hard way two years ago that we need to really loosen and lighten up the soil in order to get carrots longer than 3 inches – I still find carrots tricky to grow.

    Reply

  7. Looks like a great haul….don’t give up on them. Grow them in a different bed next year to help avoid pest problems – the taste of the homegrown are so much better! Love your your blogging….keep posting.

    Reply

  8. I’m jealous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

